Skip to content

PEI BioAlliance appoints new board member at 2021 AGM

On July 7, the PEI BioAlliance held its 2021 Annual General Meeting, where it confirmed new and returning executives and members. On the agenda were past highlights from the quarter, including the appointment of two new executive directors, updates on the progress of the Bioscience Manufacturing Incubator, and the signing of a commercial agreement between the Canadian Alliance for Skills and Training in Life Sciences (CASTL) and the National Institute for Bioscience Research and Training (NIBRT).

Board members noted the continued strong pace of revenue growth and job creation in the sector, even during the pandemic, as well as the importance of the infrastructure and skills and training initiatives now underway to support that growth.

Appointed to the board for a two-year term was Katelyn Godfrey, Senior Account Manager at Business Development Canada. Katelyn provides financing and advisory solutions for entrepreneurs in PEI. She is an experienced banking professional with a demonstrated history of business development and has worked in the world of commercial banking for more than 10 years. Katelyn is highly skilled in finance, commercial banking, relationship management and is passionate about helping businesses succeed.

Three members of the Board of Directors were also re-confirmed for new two-year terms: Ron Keefe (Regis Duffy Bioscience Fund), Oliver Technow (BIOVECTRA) and Melanie Wildman (Nutracelle). The following individuals will serve the second year of two-year terms: Brian Stewart (Elanco), Cheryl Stewart-Walsh (Innovative Medicines Canada), Mohammed Moin (Somru Bioscience), Russ Kerr (Nautilus Biosciences Croda) and Steve Howatt (Atlantic Agritech).

Additionally six ex officio members and observers on the Board of Directors were re-confirmed: Dr. Alaa Abd-El-Aziz (President, University of Prince Edward Island); Patrick Dorsey (Vice President, ACOA PEI and Tourism); Chris Kirby (A/ Associate Director, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada); Denise LeBlanc (Director General, Aquatic and Crop Resource Development, National Research Council Canada); Erin McGrath-Gaudet (Deputy Minister, Economic Growth, Tourism and Culture, Government of PEI); and Dr. Alexander (Sandy) MacDonald (President, Holland College).

Stepping down this year was Debbie Plouffe, Vice President, Research at the Center for Aquaculture Technologies. The Board of Directors thanked Debbie for her six years of service as a board member and advocate for the PEI bioscience cluster.

PEI BioAlliance Board Executive Committee

Chair: Oliver Technow, President, BIOVECTRA
Vice Chair: Brian Stewart, General Manager, Elanco PEI
Treasurer: Ron Keefe, President, Regis Duffy Bioscience Fund
Secretary: Cheryl Stewart-Walsh, Director, Atlantic Canada, Innovative Medicines Canada
Past Chair: Russ Kerr, Research Fellow, Nautilus Biosciences Croda

Scroll To Top